.au direct domain names – like getyour.au - are shorter, simpler domain names and are available as a new option for Australian internet users.

.au direct names are general purpose – they’re open to anyone with a verified connection to Australia who wants to create or manage an online presence for themselves or their organisation.

If you hold a domain name in any other .au namespace (eg. com.au, org.au, id.au etc.), created prior to 24 March 2022, you are able to apply for Priority Status to register its exact match in .au direct during the six-month period from launch.

If you want to register the .au direct match of your existing domain name, you will need to apply for Priority Status before 23:59 UTC 20 September 2022 (9:59AM AEST 21 September). 

If no priority applications have been made for the .au direct match, it will be become available for registration by the general public at 21:00 UTC 3 Oct 2022 (8:00AM AEDT 4 Oct).

To check your priority category and/ or see if there are other registrants eligible for the .au direct name you seek, you can use auDA’s Priority Status Tool.

Find out more about how you can register a .au direct name via the links below.

About .au direct names

Learn about the rules for .au direct domain names.

The .au direct launch

Learn about how .au direct names will be rolled out.

The .au direct priority allocation process

Existing registrants of other .au domain names will have the chance to apply for the .au direct exact match of their names via the priority allocation process.

 

.au direct Resources

Presentations

.au direct webinar - 3 March 2022